#TuesdaysLit, 2018, Books, Review

Lonley Hearts Bookshop #2 #BookReview

trueloveT R U E   L O V E   

A T   T H E   

L O N L E Y   H E A R T S   B O O K S H O P

ANNIE DARLING

Rating : 4/5 (very generous)

The Blurb : (from GoodReads)

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl, manager of London’s first romance-only bookshop Happy Ever, and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and quite happy hiding in the office and lying to her friends about her fictional boyfriend Peter, whose presence is very useful for getting her out of social events.

But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Because ‘Peter’ is actually Johnny, and he too could use a fictional girlfriend. So against her better judgement and because she can’t stand sitting on the sad singles table, Verity and Johnny decide to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, culminating in her sister’s Big Fat Wedding.

And by the end of the summer, there’s a bad case of heartache that even Verity’s beloved Pride And Prejudice might not be able to cure…

My Review : 

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop is the second story in the series that follows the staff at the “Happily Ever After Bookshop”.  It had been a while since I read the first book in The Lonely Hearts Bookshop series and I had no memory of it, other than it was enjoyable and an easy read, so you could read this one as a stand alone novel.

Verity Love is the main focus of this story. Verity is an introvert, she enjoys her own company and has no desire to be in a relationship. Verity is fed up of her friends setting her up on dates. That is why Peter Hardy, Oceanographer is the perfect boyfriend, he is every girls dream because he is imaginary. Verity’s colleagues and friends, Nina and Posy are very curious about her beau, so one evening they follow Verity to an Italian Restaurant hoping to meet the mysterious Peter Hardy. Verity, in a panic sits at the table of the only lone male in the establishment and quickly requests that he plays along.

The lone male happens to be Johnny. Johnny is in love with someone who is unable to return his affection. Following their first awkward encounter, Johnny seeks Verity out and offers her a solution to both of their problems. They can pretend to be in a relationship for the summer and be each others plus one. Reluctantly Verity agrees.

I did enjoy this book. I especially enjoyed the references to Pride and Prejudice, as well as the quotes at the beginning of each chapter.  Verity, her family and friends were all enjoyable characters. At times I empathised with Verity, needing to be alone and quiet in this manic world is one of the hardest things to do sometimes. I get “people overload” regularly and just finding somewhere quiet at times is bliss.

I won’t lie this book is very predictable, it is quite clear from the start how it is going to end. If you are a sucker for a good romance, enjoy references to books and are looking for a nice gentle read, then this is the book for you.

The next book in the series is entitled Crazy in Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop. From what I have read in the blurb it follows, Nina, Verity’s flatmate, friend and colleague. I do intend to read this at some point. I am going to assume that there are going to be at least four books in this series as the only employee yet to have a story is Tom. I can however see the potential for more. Mattie is now in charge of the Tea Room that is attached to the bookshop. It was noted that she had some kind of man trouble in Paris before moving to London.  Mattie also has two members of staff that help her. During book 2, Posy is trying to convince Sebastian “to let” the other shops that are around the courtyard, so potentially more stories there. If the author wanted to, it could run and run.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s