2017, Reminisce

The Day After the Year Before – Part 1

For the first part of the year Ed Sheeran dominated the UK music scene. Ed had a number of singles in the charts and his album divide was number 1.

January 

Friday 6 January 2017 – 5 men are killed in a shooting at Fort Lauderdale – Hollywood Airport in Florida.

Sunday 8 January 2017 – La La Land becomes the single most awarded film at the 74th Golden Globes winning 7 awards.

Friday 20 January 2017 – Donald Trump is sworn in as the 45th President of the United States.

Friday 27 January 2017 – Sir John Hurt died aged 77 years.

  • Theresa May travels to the United States to meet President Trump

February 

Friday 3 February 2017 – French Solider shoots a man with a machete in Paris.

Monday 6 February 2017 – Queen Elizabeth II marks her Sapphire Jubilee, 65 years as Sovereign of the United Kingdom.

Sunday 12 February 2017 – The 70th British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAS). La La Land wins 5 Awards.

Sunday 26 February 2017 – The 89th Academy Awards is held. Moonlight wins Best Picture after La La Land was mistakenly announced moments before.  Zootopia won Best Animated Feature.

March 

Wednesday 22 March 2017 – Terror Attack in Westminster, London. 5 people were killed and 50 injured.

April 

Cyclone Debbie hit parts of Australia and New Zealand during April.

Tuesday 4 April 2017 – A toxic gas attack in Syria kills 83 people.

Tuesday 18 April 2017 – Theresa May calls a snap election for the UK.

Friday 21 April 2017 – Queen Elizabeth II turned 91 years old.

May 

Thursday 4 May 2017 – Prince Philip announces that he is going to retire from public duty.

Monday 22 May 2017 – A suicide bomber killed 22 people including teenagers and an 8 year old child at the Manchester Arena following an Ariana Grande Concert.

Tuesday 23 May 2017 – Sir Roger Moore died aged 89 years old.

June 

Wonder Woman dominated the box office.

Wow… what a month June was!

Friday 2 June 2017 – Peter Sallis Died aged 96 years old.

Saturday 3 June 2017 – Another Terror Attack in London. Three men, ran people over with a van on London Bridge before stabbing people in Borough Market – 7 people died, over 40 people injured.

onelovemanchester-parrs3

Sunday 4 June 2017 – One of the best things to come out of the horrible terror attacks was the Manchester #Onelove Concert. Ariana Grande organised this in order to pay tribute and to raise funds for all those caught up in suicide bomb attack at her concert in May. It did bring a tear to my eye a few times especially when the choir was singing and that little girl got emotional.

Thursday 9 June 2017 – The UK election happened. Resulted in the Conservatives losing their majority.

Wednesday 14 June 2017 – Grenfell Tower fire. What an awful disaster! Over a 100 people killed, missing or injured due to this terrible fire. It was caused by a fridge catching fire but the cladding on the outside of the building caused the fire to spread. Following this many residents of tower blocks over the UK have had to leave their homes and the cladding has been removed.

Sunday 18 June 2017 – Friday 23 June 2017 (roughly) – June Heatwave. The hottest June on record since 1878. So very, very hot…. no sleep for days!!

Monday 19 June 2017 – Counter Terrorist Attack by a man in a van, who ploughed into a group of Muslims in Finsbury Park, London. One man was killed and several others injured.

Wednesday 21 June 2017 – Sunday 25 June 2017 – Glastonbury Music Festival. Ed Sheeran closed the Festival but my highlight was watching Barry Gibb. (Not that I went I just watched it on the TV)

Friday

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s